Roatan Honduras/Islas De La Bahia Honduras

Click here to edit subtitle

Music Web Store

The Imperials - One More Song For 1979


01. What Can I Do For You    
02. I'm Forgiven    
03. All My Life    
04. Living Without Your Love    
05. Eagle Song    
06. Closer Than Ever    
07. One More Song For You    
08. Higher Power    
09. More Like You

It could be said that The Imperials are the fathers of CCM “Contemporary Christian Music”. Formed in the late of 1963 by the legendary Jake Hess (who passed away in 2004 at the age of 76). At that time, the members of the group were Jake Hess, the baritone singer Gary McSpadden, a young bass singer from Philippines named Armond Morales, the pianist Henry Slaughter and the Sherrill Nielsen. The first album was released on Skylight Records under the name Jake Hess and The Imperials. The group signed with Benson Records. Although changed some members of the group, they continued to record for Benson Records for twelve years. The next twelve years the group signed with Word Records and recorded 13 albums. One of them was released in 1979 entitled "One more song for you". It was recorded at Jennifudy Studios, North Hollywood,CA and Hollywood Central, Hollywood,CA.

In this album the members of the group were Armond Morales, Jim Murray, David Will and Russell Taff. Also appeared Paul Leim on drums, Abraham Laboriel on bass, Marty Walsh on guitar, Michael Omartian on keyboards and percussion, Victor Feldman on congas. Also Chuck Findley and Steve Madaio on trumpets, Jackie Kelso and Kim Hutchcroft on saxophone and Dick Hyde on trombone. Sax solos by Kim Hutchcroft. Additional background vocals by Stormie Omartian, Marti McCall and Myrna Matthews. The album was produced and arranged by Michael Omartian.

I chose the song "Living without your love". Lyrics and music was written by Tom Hemby / This 1980 Grammy nominated masterpeice is listed among CCM Magazine's best 100 Christian albums of all time. The Armond Morales, Jim Murray, Russ Taff and Dave Will era Imperials best effort. I wore out the needle on my turn table playing the LP version of this classic back in the 80's. Every song. Over and over. Produced by Grammy winning Producer (former regular Steely Dan session player) Michael Omartian (great keyboards and string arrangments!)who would go on to produce the Imperials follow up record, "Priority", which won the grammy for best Contemporary Christian Album of the Year.

If you love the Lord and enjoy great music, this is a great group and great album / You can really hear the soulful voice of Russ Taff shine through on this album. This is a must have for collectors who love Russ Taff. Russ Taff was in his prime on this album release just prior to his solo albums / This was, and still may be, my favorite Imperials album. Like a previous reviewer mentioned, this was nominated for a CCM award. This is the third album with the classic lineup lead by Russ Taff. My favorite songs are "Higher Power", "Closer than ever", "Living without your love", "One more song for you", and "Eagle song". Just like the previous album, this has no weak songs. I think this was the first album that Michael Omartian produced of the group. I think he might have played keyboards on most of the songs if I remember correctly. He also did the album PRIORITY with his wife writing a handful of the songs on it. I can't remember if she wrote any on this album but I'm pretty sure she did. I had someone transfer the vinyl album of this onto a memorex disc and it turned out really good. They need to get the four Russ Taff Imperial's albums back in print but maybe they don't think they could sell enough copies to bother with it. Don't hesitate in buying this gem here on Amazon by MP3 or wait and see if it comes back in print. PRAISE THE LORD!!!

do you have it? for trading & selling

Item Added.
Adding Item.