Roatan Honduras/Islas De La Bahia Honduras

Click here to edit subtitle

Music Web Store

The Exkursions - Legends Remastered Volume 3 Three 1971 / 2013


01. Picture Woman

02. Dry Ground

03. Baby You Lied

04. What Happened To Me

05. Third Eye

06. You & Me

07. It’s Been Set Down

08. Would You Believe

This is a high-octane power rock trio consisting of Mike Johnson, Fyl Jonnzen and Leon Wilson. Their 1971 custom album absolutely blitzed through eight tunes of heavy blues-influenced material in the vein of Jimi Hendrix and Cream. No muffled sounds here – the production is top-notch and the guitars shine forth loud and mean, heavily imbued with ‘60s psych effects.


Singer/lead guitarist Mike Johnson gives an exceptional performance. He contributed a number of fine solo albums in the ‘70s, but none of them cook with near the intensity of this baby. "Third Eye" is a good example; after starting with some bizarre psycho-babble, the piece breaks into a fierce minute-and-a-half electric guitar jam (recalling Stu Heiss’ opening solo in Rez Band’s ‘White Noise’;).


"Dry Ground" is another standout, its fast-driving Hendrix groove outfitted with a killer searing guitar lead. "Baby You Lied," a love-gone-bad slow blues rocker sounds like one of those lengthy Derek & the Dominoes tracks, with wild stereo separation that I’m sure made many a long hair smile back then. Dual rhythm Guitar and Leads give the band a fuller sound than most trios.

Wah-wah and fuzz effects abound, sometimes together as on the opening CCR-ish "Picture Woman." Good solid drum work throughout, too, including a solo opportunity at the beginning of the heavily fuzzed "Would You Believe," a smooth piece of soft jazz that Mike also included on his Velvet Prince album.


This re-issue features great psychedelic cover art to match. The band formed in Chicago in 1968, and their sound spawned out of the city of Chicago’s own particular blend of jazz, blues and rock.


On the 2011 Born Twice Records: Legends Remastered Volume Three you can hear this legendary release in digital format, re-mastered by specialist J Powell of Steinhaus. Everything is packaged in a beautiful 6 panel double gate-fold digi-pak that even includes a band biography that is helpful for new fans! For fans of Jimi Hendrix,

Cream, and early Resurrection Band! Collect all of the Legends Remastered special series that resurrects classic Jesus Music and Christian rock releases from the 70’s! Look for Amaziah & Bill Mason Band for Volumes 1 & 2 of this collectible series in our store soon.


Item Added.
Adding Item.